The Regional District of East Kootenay provides E-9-1-1 fire dispatch services for the District of Sparwood

Under the Local Government Act, Regional District of East Kootenay (RDEK) Regulation, the RDEK was granted the power to operate an Enhanced 9-1-1 Emergency Telephone System as an enhanced service and the additional power to provide Emergency Programs as an extended service under the Emergency Program Act.

The E-9-1-1 emergency telephone service area, established by RDEK E9-1-1 Service Establishment Bylaw No. 1665, 2002, includes the City of Kimberley, City of Fernie, District of Sparwood, District of Elkford, District of Invermere, and Village of Radium Hot Springs.  The District pays the RDEK $0.10 per $1,000 of taxable assessed value annually for the provision of this service.  In 2016, the bylaw was amended to include the City of Cranbrook as part of the service area.